Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Programming for Engineers!

1. Oct 25, 2011 #1
    hi guys,

so I'm in my third year at a UK university, studying Aerospace (Avionics mainly) Engineering.

We've covered some programming in different modules. Some Matlab, some Java, some C.

However, I'd like to start learning more thoroughly.

Which languages are used the most in industry?

I've been recommended - Matlab, Python, C, C++.

Thanks,

2. jcsd
  3. Oct 25, 2011 #2
    and if I had to choose C or C++ first... which one?

4. Oct 25, 2011 #3
    In my Mechanical Eng. degree I'm currently taking an intro to Fortran class. From what I hear, Fortran is getting outdated though.

5. Oct 25, 2011 #4
    Matlab is a great program to master. It is very powerful and, after you learn its intricacies, relatively straight forward. Mathematica's Maple software is nice, but not necessary, it is a great tool for solving differential equations as well as multivariable ones; far more intuitive for those types of equations than matlab, but also not as powerful for higher complexity stuff and not really useful for iterations and systems analyses.

Any C language will be extremely useful if you will be programming, and with avionics you sure as heck will be. Become familiar with them all, master C++. Fortran is a great language from what I hear (I'm no programmer) but as you say it seems many industrial leaders are heading away from it.

Matlab and C++ have very similar structures. They differ in syntax, but if you can master the structure and logic of one, the other will come relatively easily.

6. Oct 25, 2011 #5
    I want to have a little rant about this and hope you don't go down the dark path so many have gone before.