1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Projectiles Help

1. Feb 22, 2009 #1
    Hi I am a grade 12 student in Physics 12 in BC, and I was wondering for projectiles, what equations you use, and what variables you use to solve. For example, in our notes our teacher gave us and example and completed it for us, but I don’t get why he used the equations he did. I do know that you use kinematics equations, and you have to change the initial velocity of the object into its 2 components Vy and Vx using component method, but other than that I don’t get why you use an equation and not another one.

Here is the problem, and any help at all would be appreciated.

A golf ball is hit diagonally (37o) off the top of a 15m cliff at 40m/s.

Find:
    a) Time to max height
    b) Max height achieved
    c) Entire time in air
    d) Range
    e) Velocity at 1.0 seconds
    f) Velocity at impact

Here is the picture that I drew to start.

http://img23.imageshack.us/img23/556/physicsquestion.th.png [Broken]

Then I found the Vx and the Vy.

http://img3.imageshack.us/img3/1953/physicsquestion1.th.png [Broken]

Now i'm stuck to find the first thing...because I dont know how to get it.
    Help please?

The answers to the question are:
    a) 2.46 sec
    b) 44.6 m
    c) 5.47 sec
    d) 175 m
    e) 35.0 m/s @ 24.1o above horizontal
    f) (do not have b/c notes are incomplete)

Last edited by a moderator: May 4, 2017
  2. jcsd
  3. Feb 22, 2009 #2