Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Promoting Women in Science great, but what about the actual science?

1. Aug 8, 2013 #1

ChristinaJ

Gold Member

There seem to be blogs popping up all over the place about women in science. They are a great idea. There is often a lack of science on such pages making it difficult to get a good picture of what women in science are actually doing.

I am an accelerator physicist, at this moment working on methods of measuring electron beam emittance in particle accelerators.

I am very interested on what other women on the forum are researching/studying and so am hoping for contributions. The sciencier the better.

2. jcsd
  3. Aug 8, 2013 #2

ZapperZ

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Education Advisor
    2016 Award

Hey, welcome fellow accelerator physicist! I'm working on engineering new generation of photocathodes for accelerators to produce higher charge and low intrinsic emittance!

Unfortunately, I'm the wrong gender to contribute to your thread. :)

Zz.

4. Aug 8, 2013 #3

ChristinaJ

Gold Member

ZapperZ, Thank you for the welcome.

The chances of running into any accelerator physicist, even on a physics forum, are relatively slim, never mind a female one. It seems we are a relatively rare breed.

cj

PS I may be shopping for a new photocathode in the near future so engineer faster :)

5. Aug 8, 2013 #4

ZapperZ

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Education Advisor
    2016 Award

Hi again, Christina,

I've an ongoing thread trying to promote accelerator physics to the people in this forum, especially in trying to debunk the myth that "accelerator physics = high energy/particle physics".

https://www.physicsforums.com/showthread.php?t=410271

Hope to get you to participate in the fun!

Zz.

6. Aug 8, 2013 #5