1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Proof by Induction question

1. Jun 12, 2006 #1
    I'm new to Proof by Induction. I've gotten a few so far, but this one has eluded me for some reason.

" Prove that [tex] 1^3 + 2^3 + 3^3.....k^3 = (1 +2 + 3....k)^2 [/tex]"

I checked for n =1 and , yes it does work. So, I assumed A(k) is true, so I'll try for A(k+1)

I started assuming A(k) and added [tex] (k+1)^3 [/tex] to both sides (as this would be the next term

[tex] 1^3 + 2^3 .... k^3 + (k+1)^3 = (1 + 2.... k)^2 + (k+1)^3 = (1 + 2....k + (k + 1) )^2 [/tex]

So, I must now show that

[tex](1 +2 + .... k + (k+1))^2 = (1 + 2 + ....k)^2 + (k+1)^3 [/tex]
    Does this look right so far?

Unfortunately, I haven't thought of a way to demonstrate this yet. If I prove that statement true, I prove the original assertion. Should I try proving that statement with induction or something...?
  2. jcsd
  3. Jun 12, 2006 #2

Homework Helper

There was a thread about this not too long ago, but I can't find it. I think you'll have to use the explicit expression for the sum 1+2+...+k. Do you know what this is? If not, you can find it by thinking about the following figures:

Last edited: Jun 12, 2006
  4. Jun 12, 2006 #3
    Oh! Are you suggesting express
    [tex] 1 + 2 + 3 .... k = k(k+1)/2 [/tex]. I'll prove that at the end, but I'll assume that fact is true and use it. (I proved that one earlier, but I'll post a proof of that at the end to make sure it is right also.) . I didn't even think to use that! Well, using that
    [tex](1 +2 + .... k + (k+1))^2 = (1 + 2 + ....k)^2 + (k+1)^3 [/tex]

goes down to
    [tex] ((k+1)(k+2) /2 )^2 = ((k+1)k/2)^2 + (k+1)^3 [/tex]

Now, expanding these lovely algebraic nightmares leads me to