Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Proof l'hopitals rule

1. Oct 14, 2011 #1

georg gill

Gold Member

This is the proof for l'hopitals rule in my book:

http://bildr.no/view/953799

http://bildr.no/view/953800

http://bildr.no/view/999144

I dont get why they use the function F to make the proof? It is the saying from it with cauchy mean value theorem that makes the start for the proof but could they not manipulate any function to make this proof work, I mean it looks like they just made up F? And at the end of the proof I dont get why f(a)=g(a)=0

Hope someone could help me out:)

2. jcsd
  3. Oct 14, 2011 #2
    This is my first time on here. Did you just post this question today?

4. Oct 14, 2011 #3

georg gill

Gold Member

Yes I did. Just can't seem to get it right. I am also a relatively newbie here

5. Oct 14, 2011 #4
    Same here. That's why I asked the question. My professor just covered L'Hopital's Rule today. This is what I got from my notes. First, we're going to use L'H's Rule to help evaluate indeterminate forms such as 0/0 and infinity/infinity. Note: If we don't have these forms, we can just use an alternative.

1. L'H's Rule is intended for Quotients.
    2. 0/0 or infinity/infinity
    3. lim f'(x)/g'(x) exists

If this is true, then lim as x approaches a f(x)/g(x) = lim as x approaches a f'(x)/g'(x)

Maybe we can figure this thing out together.

6. Oct 14, 2011 #5
    Note: I haven't actually taken the time to go through my book's proof as of yet. But I have started my homework.

7. Oct 14, 2011 #6

georg gill

Gold Member

Sure:) I'll try to find another proof online because I am stuck in the one in my book.

8. Oct 14, 2011 #7

georg gill

Gold Member

9. Oct 14, 2011 #8
    You can try this link:

http://math.chapman.edu/~jipsen/mathposters/L'Hospital's Rule.pdf