Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Proof- triangles

1. Sep 30, 2004 #1
    ok, i'm in first year coolege and we're doing some review from highschool work.. but i can't for the life of me remember how to do one of these questions and i can't seem to get past this one part or at least figure out how to prove that it is what i think it is.

it's gonna be a bit trickier, cuz i can't insert a picture, but i guess that isn't of the most importance anyways. alright

you have triangle ABC.
    side AB=4 units
    side AC=7 units
    the line CD extends for 3 units towards point B, the distance between point B an D is unknown and is what needs to be found
    the Angle BCD is = angle DAC

here's what i've tried to do so far...

i've tried to fold the 2 triangles in half across the line AD, which lines up the two sides AB and AC, with the line AC extending 3 units futher then line AB. I'm still trying to follow this train of reasoning.. but so far with little success, i don't really know what to do next, but i think it helps somehow : )

I tried extending the common side between the two triangles, line AD, far enough so that i can draw a new line, 7 units long, from point C, i'll call the intersection point E. The problem arises when i can't prove that the new triangle DEC is the same as triangle ADC. I CAN prove that it is proportional to triangle ABD, but that doesn't help me, because i only know that the side CE is 7 units, the Side DC is 3 units, and i don't know if i can prove that the angle DEC is equal to the angle DAC... which means i can't prove that the line DE is a continuation of the line AD...

hence i'm lost.

thx for the help in advance.. hey, kewl... just found the attacthment thing... i'll go draw a picture and then post :)

Attached Files:

2. jcsd
  3. Sep 30, 2004 #2
    Hint: angle bisector theorem.

Hope that helps!
  4. Sep 30, 2004 #3