What is the proof for triangle ABC with known sides and angle relationships?

In summary, the conversation discusses a problem involving triangle ABC with given side lengths and a line CD extending towards point B. The Angle BCD is equal to angle DAC and the goal is to find the length of BD. Multiple methods are tried, including folding the triangles and using the angle bisector theorem, which states that CD/BD = AC/AB. After some difficulty, the length of BD is determined to be 1.7 units.
Blissfulpain
ok, I'm in first year coolege and we're doing some review from high school work.. but i can't for the life of me remember how to do one of these questions and i can't seem to get past this one part or at least figure out how to prove that it is what i think it is.

it's going to be a bit trickier, because i can't insert a picture, but i guess that isn't of the most importance anyways. alright

you have triangle ABC.
side AB=4 units
side AC=7 units
the line CD extends for 3 units towards point B, the distance between point B an D is unknown and is what needs to be found
the Angle BCD is = angle DAC

here's what I've tried to do so far...

i've tried to fold the 2 triangles in half across the line AD, which lines up the two sides AB and AC, with the line AC extending 3 units futher then line AB. I'm still trying to follow this train of reasoning.. but so far with little success, i don't really know what to do next, but i think it helps somehow : )

next...