1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Prospective Math Major Here

1. Oct 26, 2006 #1
    I'm currently in my third semester at Penn State, and will be declaring my major sometime next semester. I'm going to major in math, but I'm not sure which Math BS option I want to take (Penn State offers several). I'm leaning towards teaching (high school-level) after I graduate.

I know that the teaching requirements vary from state to state, but, in general, what qualifications would I need to have in order to apply for a job at a high school to teach math? For the record, I live in southwestern Pennsylvania, and would be open to moving a little bit if it meant that I would have a better chance at landing a job.

Should I just get a general Math BS degree and just get some education credits while I'm there? I'm open to any advice you guys have. Thanks.

2. jcsd
  3. Oct 27, 2006 #2
    My calculus teacher in High-School was a literature major and only had 1 year of calculus himself. I think that as long as you want the job, you'll be fine. :p

4. Oct 27, 2006 #3
    In my opinion, I would say a general math would be better than math ed. I know in Texas and Missouri(maybe more states, but I've only lived in those states.) you basically only need a teacher certification. Also, if a school needs teachers know calc, stats, etc etc, then they are mainly only concern with the fact that you know the subject. Of course, I can be wrong.

5. Oct 27, 2006 #4
    That's what I wanted to hear, guys. Thanks for the input! My math teacher from high school told me that if I want to teach, I'll probably just need some education credits and to pass whatever certification exams there are.

6. Oct 27, 2006 #5