Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Prototype building

1. Jul 30, 2007 #1
    im a biologist not working at present]who has an idea for a lab system.Im not sure how to find a reputable engineering firm to build a prototype..The physics end of things involves laminar air flow and current and air pressure analysis.
    Pls advise
    Thank you so much
    Last edited: Jul 30, 2007
  2. jcsd
  3. Jul 30, 2007 #2
    how do I find a freelancer among college professionals?
  4. Jul 30, 2007 #3

Gold Member

Welcome to PF, Iyun.
    First and foremost, make sure that anyone you approach signs a non-disclosure agreement before you divulge any details. That will protect any future patent rights if your idea turns out to be lucrative.
  5. Jul 31, 2007 #4
    thank you verymuch
    I do have an NDA
    There are however a lot of firms out there but its difficult to find one with has the expertise/know how with respect to air flow patterns/pressure/currents that Im looking for
    Thank you
  6. Jul 31, 2007 #5

Gold Member

Have you considered approaching a high-level student as opposed to a 'professional'? As Brewnog ably demonstrated before his graduation, there's a lot of heavy talent out there without the final paperwork in place.
  7. Jul 31, 2007 #6
    sure,where can i find someone who is interested in this aspect of engineering?
  8. Jul 31, 2007 #7

Gold Member

Maybe right here. PF is full of all sorts of experts. It would help if you let us know where you live.
    You could visit your local university and post ads on some bulletin boards or even in the student newspaper. If you get a nibble, conduct an interview with both the respondent and others in his/her department who can give an impartial evaluation of his/her abilities.