Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Prove 1+1 = 2

1. May 30, 2013 #1
    I dare anyone to prove 1+1 = 2, in one less page than already is; not reducing the font size or changing font, either.

Whoever does so will receive US$5 off their next psychic appointment/end-of-world date prediction email subscription. Only redeemable at Evo and I's business to be set up at some point in the future.

2. jcsd
  3. May 31, 2013 #2
    How can you prove a stipulation? 1+1=2 is a statement that stipulates 1+1 may also be referred to as "2". There's nothing to prove.

4. May 31, 2013 #3

phinds

Gold Member
    2016 Award

Actually, I seem to recall that in an advanced math graduate class I took some 50 years ago, one of the exercises was to use Peano's Postulates to prove exactly that. 1+1=2

I'm an engineer, not a mathematician and I remember thinking the whole thing seemed stupid from my practical point of view but I understood that as an exercise in mathematical formalism it could be useful to folks who care about that sort of thing.

Stevie, is there some reason for your rant or did you just need to get that off your chest?

5. May 31, 2013 #4
    Why not spend the energy on something applicable to the real world instead?

Last edited: May 31, 2013
  6. May 31, 2013 #5

FlexGunship

Gold Member

2-1=1
    2-1+1=1+1
    1+1=2

(Edit in bold)

7. May 31, 2013 #6
    If I hold up one finger, then another one finger, I get two fingers.

8. May 31, 2013 #7

f95toli

Science Advisor
    Gold Member

The "full" proof can be found in Russell and Whiteheads "Principia Mathematica", and no it can not be done on one page (it takes them about 300 pages to get to the proof).

But then Gödel came along and showed that the whole exericise was futile:uhh:

9. May 31, 2013 #8
    Some people like reading Harry Potter. Some people like doing math exercises.

10. May 31, 2013 #9