Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Homework Help: Prove nabla(a dot b)

1. Jul 2, 2010 #1
    please prove :
    nabla(a dot b)=(b dot nabla)a+(a dot nabla)b+b cross nabla cross a+a cross nabla cross b;
    (a and b are all vectors)
    when I was proving it,I found it impossible to go from right side to left side. I don't know whether '(b dot nabla)a = b (nabla a)' is right or not , when proving ,I found only when it is right can I prove the equation.
    Can you help me to prove '(b dot nabla)a = b (nabla a)'? Thank you very much!
    (I am a freshman)

2. jcsd
  3. Jul 2, 2010 #2

Dick

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

(b dot nabla)a is a vector. b (nabla a) isn't really a vector, is it? b is a vector. (nabla a) is some sort of two index object. That makes b (nabla a) a three index object. Put indexes on stuff and work it out concretely.

4. Jul 2, 2010 #3
    sorry,what I want to prove is '(b dot nabla) a=b (nabla dot a)'.It is clearly that they are not in a same direction , but when I was using Einstein summation convention , they have to be the same,which confused me a lot .I would show you my procedure of proving.Please wait.

Last edited: Jul 3, 2010
  5. Jul 2, 2010 #4

Dick

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

Take a=(x,0,0) and b=(0,y,0). The left side is y*d/dy(a)=(0,0,0). The right side is b*1=(0,y,0). They aren't the same.

6. Jul 2, 2010 #5
    left=[tex]\nabla(\vec{a} \cdot \vec{b})[/tex]
    =[tex]\partial_{i}\vec{e}_{i}(a_{j}b_{j})[/tex]
    =[tex]\vec{e}_{i}(b_{j}\partial_{i}a_{j}+a_{j}\partial_{i}b_{j})[/tex]
    =[tex]\vec{e}_{i}b_{j}\partial_{i}a_{j}+\vec{e}_{i}a_{j}\partial_{i}b_{j}[/tex]
    right=[tex](\vec{b}\cdot\nabla)\vec{a}+(\vec{a}\cdot\nabla)\vec{b}+\vec{b}\times\nabla\times\vec{a}+\vec{a}\times\nabla\times\vec{b}[/tex]