1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Proving in Linear Algebra

1. Jul 5, 2009 #1
    1. The problem statement, all variables and given/known data
    I am studying linear algebra independently using a pdf book online. The question I have difficulty is this:
    Prove that, where a, b... e are real numbers and a does not equal 0, if
    (1) ax + by = c
    has the same solution set as
    (2) ax + dy = e
    then they are the same equation.

2. Relevant equations

3. The attempt at a solution

Since they are a couple of linear equations, I performed a Gaussian operation on it
    (1) ax + by = c
    (2) ax + dy = e
    (1) - (2) y = c-e/b-d , x = c/a - (b/a)(c-e/b-d)

So basically I subtracted (1) from the (2) to get the intercept point between the equations. That should be the solution set. Since I'm trying to prove that (1) and (2) are the same, then I should let b=d and c=e. However, if b = d and c = e, then y would be 0/0. So I'm not sure what I did wrong.

Last edited: Jul 5, 2009
  2. jcsd
  3. Jul 5, 2009 #2

jgens

Gold Member

Alright, if the two equations have the same solution set, that means that an ordered pair (x1,y1) must be a solution to each equation. Clearly (x2,y2) is a solution to each equation as well. Using this principle, subtract the two equations.

[a(x1) + b(y1)] - [a(x1) + d(y1)] = c - e

c - e = (b - d)y1

Use a similar analysis for the pair (x2,y2) to finish the proof. I'd imagine there is a simple way to do this but I can't think of anything.

Edit: Just thought of a much simpler way to do it but this should work.

Last edited: Jul 5, 2009
  4. Jul 5, 2009 #3
    I've rethought the question (graphically this time on a x-y axis) and realize that the question is asking that if (1) and (2) intersect, they must be the same line.