Pseudo Scalar Relativistic QM problem

In summary, the conversation discusses a problem involving a spin 1/2 particle and the Dirac equation. The equation includes a potential, which varies between zero and infinity. The individual is seeking help in finding the energy eigenfunctions and eigenvalues, and also explores the behavior of the lowest energy eigenvalue and eigenfunction as the potential approaches infinity. Ultimately, the individual states that they have found a solution to the problem.
robousy
Hi there,

I have a problem that I could really do with a little help on.

I have a spin 1/2 particle in which the dirac eqtn reads:

[tex]

( i {d} - \gamma V(x) - m ) \Phi = 0

[/tex]

(I am new to latex - the d is SLASHED and the gamma is GAMMA5 )

In a potential V(x,t) = 0 for -L LTE x GTE L
= V(zero) otherwise

I have to find:

a) energy eigenfunctions and eigenvalues

b) say what happends to the lowest energy eigenvalue and eigenfunction as the potential goes to infinity.

Any advice greatly appreciated!

Rich

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org
...I think i have the solution now...so don't worry! :)

Hi Rich,

The problem you have described is known as the Pseudo Scalar Relativistic QM problem. It involves a spin 1/2 particle in a potential that is zero within a certain range and a constant value outside of that range.

To solve this problem, you will need to use the Dirac equation you have provided and apply it to the potential V(x,t). This will give you a differential equation that you can solve to find the energy eigenfunctions and eigenvalues.