1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Classical Purcell E&M recommendation?

1. Nov 18, 2017 #1
    I have already taken the following online courses:
    - Physics 1 (calc based, mechanics)
    - Linear Algebra
    - Calculus 1
    - Calculus 2
    - Electronics technician by trade

Next semester I will be taking multi variable calculus, in preparation for a brick and mortar Canadian university for fall of 2018.

I used the resnick/halliday/walker book for my first physics course and I wasn't a fan of all the messy examples and problems, too many colors and fancy pictures, not enough substance IMO.

Based on my current knowledge, would you recommend that I acquire Purcell's E&M book to use for pysics studying alongside my calc 3 course? If so, which version?

2. jcsd
  3. Nov 19, 2017 #2
    I would maybe go over Mechanics again at the level of Kleppner and Kolenkow. The problems in Purcell are more difficult than those in KK. There is a nice electromag book by Kipp. Kipp is at a lower level than Purcell, but higher than HRW.

4. Nov 19, 2017 #3
    For electromagnetism, what about "Introduction to Electromagnetism" by D. J. Griffiths?

Also check out the answers to this question.

5. Nov 20, 2017 #4

jasonRF

Science Advisor
    Gold Member

I think Purcell would be too much to follow until after you have have learned multivariable and vector calculus. To be honest, I would suggest first learning electromagnetism from Halliday&Resnick or some similar book instead of from Purcell. My first course in electromagnetism was based on Purcell and it was brutal - even with a helpful professor and excellent TA it was very painful. Purcell is a fun book after you already understand the material. Good luck,

Jason

6. Nov 21, 2017 #5

Demystifier