Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Putting a movie file onto a DVD.

1. Mar 27, 2009 #1
    Hey everyone :)

I have a movie file on my computer that is 120 minutes and 800MB. I want to transfer that onto a DVD CD so that I can play it on a DVD player at my friends house.

The movie file is in AVI format.

How do I put that file onto the DVD CD? Do I need a special programme or can I just do it through iTunes? I don't want to try and fail because the DVDs are not rewritable.

I'm also not 100% what type of DVD player my friend has but, he will be playing it through a playstation 3. I have a DVD+R and a DVD-R.

Any help would be much appreciated :) I'm a noob as you can probably see lol!

2. jcsd
  3. Mar 27, 2009 #2

mgb_phys

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

4. Mar 27, 2009 #3

russ_watters

Staff: Mentor

Well first of all, you need to find out what codec it really is, because .avi is just a general purpose wrapper. Open the file in media player, then click file-> properties and see what the audio and video codecs are. Then check the manual of your Playstation to see if it will play them. Odds are probably pretty good that it will.

If it does, you're golden and you can play it directly in your Playstation. However, there are DVDs and CDs, but no such thing as a "DVD CD". Find out exactly how big the file is and see if it will actually fit on a CD. If it does, then burn it to a CD as a "data cd". If not, burn it to a DVD as a "data dvd".

If your dvd player doesn't play that codec, then you have to re-encode it in a format the Playstation will play. You'll have to get some software to do that for you and it can be a little more involved...

5. Mar 27, 2009 #4
    Says "DivX Decoder Filter"

6. Mar 27, 2009 #5

mgb_phys

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

divx is a more compressed form than dvd - which is why you can fit a 2hour movie into 800mb.