1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Python, need help with loops

1. Oct 22, 2011 #1
    Hi everyone, I'm new to programming, studying python in school.

here's my first go at a loop to count up to 100 by 2, works fine

stop_count=100
    count=2
    while(count<=stop_count):
    print count
    count=count+2

But one of my practice problems is to use 'while' to
    print 2 and all powers of 2 through and including 4096

I suppose I don't quite understand the math for a sequence of exponents or the correct syntax for the code, here's my try:

stop_pow=4096
    base=2
    while (base<=stop_pow):
    print base
    base= base**base+1

Which of course just printed the value of 2^3

Would someone please show me the correct code so I can understand my mistake and this type of operation.

Last edited: Oct 22, 2011
  2. jcsd
  3. Oct 23, 2011 #2

Borek

Staff: Mentor

Please use [noparse]
    Code (Text):

[/noparse] tags when posting your code. This is especially important in Python, where

Code (Text):
    stop_pow=4096
    base=2
    while (base<=stop_pow):
    print base
    base= base**base+1
    is syntactically incorrect, while

Code (Text):
    stop_pow=4096
    base=2
    while (base<=stop_pow):
        print base
    base= base**base+1
    and

Code (Text):
    stop_pow=4096
    base=2
    while (base<=stop_pow):
        print base
        base= base**base+1
    are syntactically correct, but different.

Try to add "print base**base+1" to your loop to see what you are calculating. It is not what you think it is. And I don't see how it could print just 8, it has to start printing 2 and 5.

4. Oct 23, 2011 #3
    Thank-you
    Well yes, sorry, it does print 2 and 5 and 8 and if I include
    print base**base+1
    it only prints five, indefinitely.