Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Python to C++

1. Feb 12, 2009 #1
    I am learning Python right now and it is pretty cool. Just out of curiosity, would it be a easy transition to learn C++ after I master Python?

2. jcsd
  3. Feb 12, 2009 #2

mgb_phys

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

Why would you want to!
    Often people coming from a higher level language write better C++ code (using boost and STL) rather than people coming from C/Fortran who write at too low a level.

4. Feb 13, 2009 #3
    Boost and STL, never heard of them. I am new to programming:)

Well, I have noticed some really good computational software that requires C++, like open foam for CFD.
    I would like to eventually get into these types of programs.

5. Feb 15, 2009 #4
    So boost allows me to interface python with c++ programs, is that correct?
    So I would be able to use python for open foam?

6. Feb 15, 2009 #5
    If you do a lot of intense computations such as CFD, it does not hurt to start programming in C++ which gives you a lot more return for your CPU seconds.
    Python and other high level languages make excellent prototyping tools.

7. Feb 15, 2009 #6

mgb_phys

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

If you have an existing CFD (or whatever) library it might be worth looking for a Python wrapper, or making some wrappers using boost::python.
    Let C++ (or Fortran) do the heavy lifting an write your own program on top of this in Python - you get a lot better value for your programming hours and a reduction in all-night bug hunts.

8. Feb 15, 2009 #7
    For what little it's worth, I've often found Boost::Python to be perhaps the most severely lacking component in the Boost libraries. (The reasons are technical and I won't discuss them here.)