QFT and renormalization

In summary, the conversation is about the speaker's attempt to understand the history of Quantum Mechanics and how the introduction of Quantum Field and renormalization addressed the issue of infinity. They are seeking input and resources for further understanding.
crisis
Hi all,

I'm an amateur with some knowledge on the surface and actually am trying to make sense of the history of QM evolution and try to put things in place by trying to understand their 'raison d'être, at the time.
So I'm back in:
1. 1926-28 with the question: how the introduction of Quantum Field solve the problem of QM and relativity with regard to simultaneously.

2. and 20 years later, at Shelter Island, with renormalization-I cannot understand it...how come does the 'forced' introduction of mass and charge resolve the problem of infinity in a satisfying manner?

Any input, links, advise will be highly appreciated,

Cheers

Physics news on Phys.org
crisis said:
with renormalization-I cannot understand it...how come does the 'forced' introduction of mass and charge resolve the problem of infinity in a satisfying manner?

See Chapter B5 ''Divergences and renormalization'' of my theoretical physics FAQ at http://arnold-neumaier.at/physfaq/physics-faq.html#B5

1. What is QFT and how does it differ from classical field theory?

Quantum field theory (QFT) is a theoretical framework that combines the principles of quantum mechanics and special relativity to describe the behavior of subatomic particles. Unlike classical field theory, which treats particles as classical objects with definite positions and momenta, QFT describes particles as excitations of quantum fields that permeate space and time.

2. What is the role of renormalization in QFT?