Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

QM and String

1. Mar 17, 2008 #1
    Hello, I am new in this forum and I am not a scientist
    Can someone help me to understand the following question: does this String theory confute and negate the Observer Effect and that there is a subjective reality? Or it confirms it
    Thank you so much
    Rossella

2. jcsd
  3. Mar 18, 2008 #2
    Can Any One Answer My Question?

Dear Scientists
    Is there anyone who can answer to the following?
    Are you familiar with String theory?
    Does this theory negate or contradict the previous quantum mechanic theory of observation? (Copenhagen Interpretation and Observer's effect) , does observation still have a big roll in giving properties to Strings?
    Thank you so much
    Rossella

4. Mar 18, 2008 #3

ZapperZ

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Education Advisor

These posts have been moved from a thread in the QM forum to this forum, where I think it might get more attention from people who have the expertise to answer it.

Zz.

5. Mar 18, 2008 #4

jambaugh

Science Advisor
    Gold Member

Presumably quantum string theory (when it ever becomes a physical theory) will still lie within the broader domain of standard quantum mechanics and as such will not change the prediction of which you speak.

I would also make some qualifications in how you describe this effect.
    Let me emphasize that when we speak of "observation" in QM we necessarily mean physically interacting with the system. Most confusion about QM predictions arise when one makes assumptions about what is beyond what is physically observed.