1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

QM book

1. Sep 3, 2008 #1
    I'll take a quantum mechanics course this semester. I am a so-called advanced undergraduate (3rd year). This is the second course of quantum mechanics for me. The first was "the basics" (no bra and kets, a bit of linear algebra).

I have read a couple of reviews of books on advanced undergraduate books, like Griffiths, Shankar and Sakurai but I coudn't make my decision yet.

I'm ready about the math (linear algebra, differential equations) but not Dirac's notation.

Thank you!

2. jcsd
  3. Sep 3, 2008 #2

George Jones

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member

Are you looking something to use for self-study before the semester begins, or something to study while taking the course? Is there a text for the course?

4. Sep 3, 2008 #3
    For self-study

5. Sep 3, 2008 #4

George Jones

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member

All the books you listed are good, but, for self-study, I would go with Griffiths. Since all the books are good, I expect that other posters will make different recommendations.

6. Sep 3, 2008 #5

xristy

Gold Member

7. Sep 8, 2008 #6
    SAKURAI is a really good introductory book. I'm onto the excercises if you want to feel some company throught your pain :).
    Another good one is Griffiths, he is pretty good in explaining the angular momenta and that kind of stuff... GOOD LUCK WITH IT!

8. Sep 8, 2008 #7
  9. Sep 8, 2008 #8

malawi_glenn

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

There are many old threads about this topic, and all my answers in those have been "SAKURAI: Modern Quantum mechanics" ;-)

Also try to find the tutorials we have on that section here on PF, they are very good.

10. Sep 8, 2008 #9

Fra