QM Books for Engineers: Best Intermediate Picks

In summary, the conversation is about finding good suggestions for books on Quantum Physics. The person asking is an Electrical Engineer with a background in math and physics, and is interested in both the theory and math behind QM. The suggested books are Townsend, Sakurai, Haroche and Raimond, and "Quantum Mechanics for Electrical Engineers". Another suggestion is the free book "Quantum Mechanics for Engineers".
amanno
Hey guys,

I love to read and learn about Quantum Physics and have been looking for good suggestions on books. I don't want a complete beginners book, I am an Electrical Engineer so I have a decent background in math and physics, by no means am I am expert. I love all the theory behind QM but I am also interested in the math.

Does anyone have any good suggestions for books that are maybe somewhere in between novice and advanced.

Physics news on Phys.org
Quantum Mechanics for Electrical Engineers is a great new book. I've read the first few chapters for fun and it's good stuff, and a lot of MATLAB if you like that kind of thing. It isn't a "general" QM text because it focuses on the aspect of QM most relevant to semiconductors. I've also read the Sakurai text above it is is also excellent.

http://www.wiley.com/WileyCDA/WileyTitle/productCd-0470874090.html

Likes amanno and bhobba

I would recommend the following books for engineers looking to delve deeper into Quantum Mechanics:

1. "Quantum Mechanics: Concepts and Applications" by Nouredine Zettili - This book offers a comprehensive and intuitive approach to understanding the fundamentals of quantum mechanics. It covers both the theory and applications of QM, making it a great intermediate pick for engineers.