Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

QM mathematics

1. May 26, 2005 #1
    Hey, what kind of mathematics are needed to understand the bulk of QM and GR?

2. jcsd
  3. May 26, 2005 #2
    Ordinary calculus probably works, for both subjects. If you only want to understand it and make a few calculations. If you want to do research you need alot more mathematics.

4. May 26, 2005 #3
    Well, I'm a high school student and I'm very interested in Quantum Mechanics and General Relativity. I even took a class on classical physics here at school, but just the basic stuff.. I have pre-calculus down and just wanted to know what was needed to contribute thanks alot :D btw.. that was a really quick response

5. May 26, 2005 #4

dextercioby

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

Not to go deep into details and the formalism and just gather a superficial knowledge of QM:linear algebra,calculus,complex analysis+special functions and ODE+PDE-s.

For GR,well,calculus and linear algebra is more that enough to understand the nongeometrical exposure by Dirac [1].

Daniel.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    [1] P.A.M.Dirac "General Relativity",1975.

6. May 26, 2005 #5

chroot

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member

The short answer is that QM requires linear algebra, calculus, and operators. GR in full splendor requires all that plus differential geometry and tensor calculus.

- Warren

7. May 26, 2005 #6
    If you start with the Schrödinger equation you will see what you all need. i think if one can solve this equation he has understood the mathematical concept.

8. May 27, 2005 #7

aav

John Baez has a nice link about "how to learn math and physics". As far as QM is concerned, you will need at least:

Calculus
    Multivariable calculus
    Linear algebra
    Ordinary differential equations