1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Quamtum Mechanis self study

1. Jun 19, 2012 #1
    I am a graduate student preparing for my comperhensive exam, and do not have a very strong background in QM. Which method should I use? which book takes me to the point of getting 60% out of exam. The material is advanced undergraduate QM.

2. jcsd
  3. Jun 19, 2012 #2

Dr Transport

Science Advisor
    Gold Member

the schaums outline would be helpful

4. Jun 20, 2012 #3
    You should check out Zettili's book. For an undergrad book it is quite advanced and rigorous (especially compared to the shi*ty book that Griffiths wrote) and at the end of every chapter it has 10-15 worked out problems which are great for practice.

5. Jun 20, 2012 #4
    What's so terrible about Griffiths' book? It is by no means perfect but I quite liked it when I took my UG course on QM 1.

In reply to the thread starter, I'm guessing you're not a physics student, considering you're taking UG QM as a graduate student. Contrary to ahsanxr, I found Griffiths to be a pretty damn good book for the UG level. If it's a more advanced course as you said, then I'd say go for Shankar's book. Heard nothing but great things about it.

6. Jun 20, 2012 #5
    Listen to what this guy said. I took first semester undergrad QM and was extremely frustrated by Griffiths. Then I found Zetilli's book and ended up with A+ in the class. Zetilli's book is not good. It's THE BEST. I learned about it from a member here. It will prepare you for the qual exam. He has a gazillion solved problems and shows you tricks and techniques you will never see anywhere.

7. Jun 20, 2012 #6