1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Quant job for physics student

1. Jun 1, 2008 #1
    Hi
    I am doing my phd in physics. I am working on experimental physics. My work involves some numerical analysis using Matlab, and finite element analysis also. I know c/c++ pretty well. I am planning to get knowledge on finance by self study and look for finance jobs after graduation. is it possible to get a quant job without finance degree?
    any discussion is appreciated.

thanks
    Veen

2. jcsd
  3. Jun 1, 2008 #2

Choppy

Science Advisor
    Education Advisor

Your best bet would be to contact the people in the profession. Ask if they'd be willing to meet with you for lunch or let you job shadow them for a day. My guess (which isn't worth much) is that it is possible - although the more experience you have with financial models the better.

4. Jun 1, 2008 #3
    This might be a stretch. And, I don't know much about it. But actuaries have been used in a quant capacity. If you are rock solid in probability and financial math you might take a shot at the first couple of actuarial exams. It would be proof to employers that you are capable. Not that your qualifications are not good enough already. But the exams may build a bridge for you.

5. Jun 1, 2008 #4

George Jones

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member

6. Jun 1, 2008 #5