Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Quantum computer demostrated

1. Feb 16, 2007 #1
    I find it hard to believe that they got 16 qubits working... and they say they'd have 512 or 1024 by the end of next year!

http://www.dailytech.com/article.aspx?newsid=6102

but there are so many tech sites that cover this computer...

Engadget

The Register
    Physorg.com
    ExtremeTech
    Scientific American

i don't think these sites are serious, i don't know if they had someone credible look at this computer and approve it as a real quantum computer and not just another one of these "quantum computers" that you can find right now (which can run windows :tongue2: ).

what do you think?

2. jcsd
  3. Feb 16, 2007 #2
    I'm no expert but this looks pretty credible, note they are used in tandem with an electronic system. Last I'd heard they had successfully made quantum transistors, but I hadn't heard they were this far along, it could be a fake, but it sounds plausible, there not claiming they have a stand alone quantum system or anything outlandish?

And it appears for now it's slower than a conventional PC and more limited.

Watch this space, there going to get it peer reviewed, if it's quackery we'll soon find out? Could be marketing?

Last edited: Feb 16, 2007
  4. Feb 16, 2007 #3
    My company does some work on quantum computers, I can say that a 16 qubit machine is not totally out of line (although its still ahead of the curve). Of course it's possible the company is faking their results, but a 16 qubit machine is not an outrageous claim.

5. Feb 16, 2007 #4
    Can this new computer factor 77? That's my public key.

6. Feb 16, 2007 #5