Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Quantum entangled particles

1. May 6, 2009 #1
    I am a Combat Medic in the US Army and have a few questions to ask. I am not a physicist nor would I pretend to be. I am just a curious mind. I am very new to this so these questions may be very simple.

1. Is it possible to capture an entangled particle?

2. If so can these particles be separated? Perhaps two electrons orbiting two separate atoms?

3. Can the captured particle be monitored?

4. Is it possible to manipulate the particles?

5. If so can it be done in a predictable/detectable manner? Exp: Slow down or speed up. Perhaps even change direction.

2. jcsd
  3. May 6, 2009 #2
    There is nothing special about entangled particles, other than that the state of one of them depends on the state of the other. Even if they are separated by a large distance (as large as you want), when you measure the state of your particle, you know instantly what the state of the other particle will be, if it was measured.

They are not entangled in the sense that they are somehow stuck together or something.

4. May 6, 2009 #3

DrChinese

Science Advisor
    Gold Member

Welcome to PhysicsForums, Belzy!

The answer is YES, you can capture and manipulate entangled particles. There are many novel experiments being performed daily on entangled particles. One of the most common is to take a laser and shine it into a PDC crystal. This causes 2 beams of light to emerge at very specific off angles. The light particles in each beam are entangled. They can then be manipulated and tested in a variety of ways.

5. May 6, 2009 #4
    Thank you for taking the time to read my post.