1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Quantum Gravity

1. Feb 17, 2008 #1
    I am an undergraduate student of phyiscs major. If i want to work on Quantum Gravity then do i need to continue MSc Physics? Or Others like High energy phyiscs or particle physics or Astro?

My aim is to be a teacher at a top University and Research on Quantum Gravity & String theory.

Can you guide me? I mean which brunch of physics should i choose, which one is bad for career,how should i advance etc.. just like that.

Thank you.
  2. jcsd
  3. Feb 17, 2008 #2
    Also thinking about this `career path'.

Personally I majored in Physics/Pure Maths at The University of Sydney and am now doing theoretical particle physics Honours at the University of Melbourne. I'm hoping to do a PhD in the states at some stage.

I've been informed from a string theorist that some important areas of maths for particle physics are representation theory of Lie algebras and Algebraic topology. I've taken neither but if you get a chance it would be adviseable for QG.
    Last edited: Feb 17, 2008
  4. Feb 18, 2008 #3
    Thanks. I will remember.
  5. Feb 18, 2008 #4
    SuperStringboy, first of all, you should pick up a brunch of physics that you really like. There are plenty of them: High Energy Physics (HEP), quantum gravity, condensed matter physics, photonics, solid state physics and many, many more!

What would be really useful is to take many classes in different aspects of physics, so that you can realize which field you like, if you're good at it etc. You could also talk to some of your professors in your department about their research, the possibilities of surviving in such a field, the difficulties, the problems and so on.