1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Quantum Mechanics Infinite Well Help

1. Nov 9, 2005 #1

Hello all,
    I just ran across this forum thanks to google and decided to register and ask for some help on my homework!
    I'm in 2nd year university and we have a problem set due on Friday and this is the question on it:
    I started to do part a) but it seems very wrong. What I did was try to normalize the function to unity so that
    A^2*∫(from -a to a) (a^2 - x^2)^2dx = 1
    and solving for A i found
    A = sqrt((15*a^5)/(8*a^10 - 15*a^8 - 10*a^4 + 3))
    This value seemed way too complicated but I kept going anyways hoping it would simplify, what I did next was try to calculate A_n such that
    A_n = ∫(from 0 to a) dx*Ψ(x,0)*Ψ_n(star)(x,0) = ∫(from 0 to a) dx*Ψ*sin((n*pi*x)/a)
    but then once again I got some fairly complicated function so I stopped.
    Can anyone help me out here? I am very lost!
  2. jcsd
  3. Nov 10, 2005 #2
    I'm a bit confused as to how you got your value for A.
    So you have:
    [tex]A^2 \int^a_{-a} (a^2-x^2)^2 dx=1[/tex]
    [tex]A^2 \int^a_{-a} (a^4+x^4-2a^2 x^2) dx=1[/tex]
    [tex]A^2 [a^4 x + \frac{x^5}{5}-\frac{2a^2x^3}{3}]_{-a}^a =1[/tex]
    [tex]A^2 [2a^5 + \frac{2a^5}{5}-\frac{4a^5}{3}]=1[/tex]
    [tex]A^2 [\frac{16a^5}{15}]=1[/tex]
    I'm not particularly sure what you're doing for the second part. My guess (and I'm actually learning this stuff right now too) is that you should find A(k) (the amplitude function, i.e. the transform from x to k) and then relate the probability of finding E_n with finding the corresponding k_n where

[tex]k_n = \sqrt{\frac{2m}{\hbar ^2}E_n} [/tex]
    [tex]E_n = \frac{n^2 \pi^2 \hbar^2}{2 m L^2} [/tex]