Quantum Mechanics Question

In summary, the conversation discusses two questions regarding quantum mechanics, specifically the relationship between an arbitrary function and its position and momenta, as well as the change of expectation values in a time dependent state. The first question involves deriving general functions using commutation rules, while the second question delves into the evolution of a general state with a time-independent Hamiltonian. The conversation also reveals the speaker's lack of understanding in quantum mechanics and their struggle to grasp the concepts being discussed.
guruoleg
Hey all-
I am new to quantum mechanics so these questions will be elementary and don't be afraid to go over simple concepts. There are two questions on the homework that I barely even know how to approach (I don't know how to type p sub k properly so that is how I will be writing it):

1. Let f(p,x) be an integer function of operators p sub k,x sub k.
Derive general functions (df/dx sub k) = -[f,p sub k] and (df/dp sub k) = [f,x sub k]
With abbreviation [f,g] = i/h bar(fg - gf) from the commutation rules for p sub k and x sub k.
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Firstly, I thought that [A,B] = i h bar (A,B) Poisson Bracket where (A,B) Poisson Bracket has partial derivatives and a summation. Are the two representations the same?
Anyway, I absolutely cannot see how to begin proving a relationship between a completely arbitrary function f and its position and momenta. Since I cannot take the partial derivative of an arbitrary function I tried to work backwards and compute [f, p] but by the definition given above (fp - pf) = 0. In fact, it seems like fp-pf will be zero for any values of p and f. However, p and f are not variables, right? It is difficult to see but should they be operators expressed in the bra-ket notation?