Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Quantum Mechanics Texts

1. Jul 28, 2004 #1
    I'm a mathematics grad student looking to take graduate quantum mechanics in the fall. The prof isn't using a text, but I think I might want to have one around in case. Are there any Quantum Mechanics texts that are like a Rudin is to Analysis?

2. jcsd
  3. Jul 28, 2004 #2
    One other thing, I haven't taken any physics since calculus based introductory physics, like Halliday, Resnick.

Also, are there texts like this for the other core areas of physics like Grad E+M, Grad Mechanics, and Grad Thermodynamics?

4. Jul 28, 2004 #3

robphy

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper
    Gold Member

Check out http://www.ocf.berkeley.edu/~abhishek/chicphys.htm
    (Scroll down... this links should point to lower portions of the page... but the links have a typo in them.)

5. Jul 29, 2004 #4

Galileo

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

My class used Griffith's introduction to Quantum Mechanics. The book may be
    nice for use in class because of the problems, but for self-study it sucks.

I highly recommend Cohen Tannoudji's "Quantum Mechanics".
    The text is clear, elaborate and pedagogically written.

6. Jul 29, 2004 #5

ZapperZ

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Education Advisor