Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Quantum outcome

1. Jun 8, 2013 #1
    I am not an expert in physics. I just wanted to know.

Quantum outcome is said to be uncertain. Could this be the reason, i.e every time we run a quantum experiment, the background(or say sub-atomic area) must be different with passage of time. As we do not have complete knowledge of the sub-atomic particles and force carrier etc.. It is still investigated in particle accelerator. That is the experiment is same , the external macro world condition we set up for the experiment is same but the external micro world must not be the same. Therefore we get different outcome on quantum level.

If I am not wrong, what laws does the micro world follows we do not know. Therefore we do not yet know whether the micro world is the same, every time we run the experiment.

Similar to brownian motion which look random but is actually bombarded differently by micro particles differently at each moment.

Thanks.

2. jcsd
  3. Jun 8, 2013 #2

Nugatory

Staff: Mentor

If I'm understanding you properly, you're asking whether it is possible that the randomness of quantum mechanics might be just an artifact of our incomplete knowledge of the detailed microstate of the system; if we really could observe and control the microstate, the randomness would go away and we'd get repeatable results measuring systems that were prepared in identical micro states.