Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Quantum Physics Journals

1. Sep 9, 2013 #1
    I believe that by accident I have developed a new atomic model that will replace the Bohr model. I am not a scientist or mathematician yet I want to try to present the model to the scientific community. What is the best way to do so? If it is through a journal please recommend journals that might be interested in publishing it.

2. jcsd
  3. Sep 9, 2013 #2
    You are a little late to the game to say the least :smile:. The Bohr model is already obsolete and it was replaced by quantum mechanics already in ca 1925.

I recommend reading this:
    and

Quantum mechanics introduction:
    I will soon give you some more links to consider, hang on, please.
    (concerning journals, I have no recommendation at the moment)

EDIT:
    See also this thread: Valid reason to reject the Bohr model? and Failures of the Bohr Model (HyperPhysics).

Last edited: Sep 9, 2013
  4. Sep 9, 2013 #3
    OK. Let me try again. The quantum model today is based on the filling of the s,p,d, f shells presented by Bohr. The model has flaws at the 4s shell filling before the 3d shell. I have a model that will fill the shells without any overlapping of n levels.
    I hope somebody can help me and tell me which journals might be interested in publishing the new model.

5. Sep 10, 2013 #4

Demystifier

Science Advisor

You have some chances to publish it in the journal Physics Essays, but I have to worn you: Serious physicists will not take seriously a paper published there.

6. Sep 10, 2013 #5