Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Quantum Spherical Harmonics

1. Aug 1, 2014 #1
    Hello,

As a science writer, I've tasked myself with acquiring a thorough theoretical and historical understanding
    of Quantum Mechanics.

It would be interesting to know if there has ever been any experimental verification of Laplace's
    spherical harmonics, relating to the quantum mechanical model of the atom; Or if spherical harmonics
    are purely a theoretical mathematical solution to 3 dimensional cartesian electron orbital locations
    at the various quantum energy levels.

It would also be interesting to know which experimental discovery lead to the abandonment of Bohr's planetary model
    of the atom, in old quantum mechanics, the scientists who performed the experiment, as well as the date and location
    the experiment occured, and the process through which this discovery lead to the current quantum model.

Kind regards,

A. Holtz

2. jcsd
  3. Aug 1, 2014 #2

atyy

Science Advisor

http://www-history.mcs.st-and.ac.uk/Biographies/Schrodinger.html
    "On 16 November, in another letter, Schrödinger wrote:-

I have been intensely concerned these days with Louis de Broglie's ingenious theory. It is extraordinarily exciting, but still has some very grave difficulties.

One week later Schrödinger gave a seminar on de Broglie's work and a member of the audience, a student of Sommerfeld's, suggested that there should be a wave equation. Within a few weeks Schrödinger had found his wave equation. "

4. Aug 1, 2014 #3

atyy

Science Advisor