What happens to the energy of an electron after it tunnels through a barrier?

In summary, tunnelling is a phenomenon where a particle is able to escape from a potential barrier that would normally confine it. In the case of an electron in an atom, its energy remains unchanged after tunnelling, but the potential energy may change as it is no longer bound to the atom. This can result in changes to the electron's structure, such as the curvature and amplitude of its wavefunction. Tunnelling is not a common occurrence in isolated atoms, but can happen in certain situations such as when there is an electric field present. In molecules, the shared electrons have the same energy level across both atoms due to the combined potential after solving the Schrodinger equation.
omiros
Hello everybody, I am a first year student and I have a question about tunneling.

If we have an electron which is bound by an atom. And that electron has a high probability to tunnel through the barrier that keeps it confined. So it manages to 'escape' from the atom.

Shouldn't its energy change after that? Classically thinking of that thing its potential energy would change dramatically as it would not be bound by the atom anymore. So the main question is, what happens to its energy and if it remains the same, what changes in the electrons 'structure' (speed, wavelength etc)?

Physics news on Phys.org
Classically, tunnelling does not happen at all, so classical thinking does not work for this situation.

What you want to consider is a particle in an energy eigenstate of a confining potential barrier.
Since it is just a barrier, there may be a non-zero chance that it may be found beyond the classical limits.
Should a measurement of position show that result, we say that the barrier has been penetrated.
Should a measurement of position show a result farther than the far-side of the barrier, then we say that "tunnelling" has happened.