Quantum weak measurement parameter estimation vs Classical Estimation

Your Name]In summary, the conversation discusses the use of quantum weak measurement for parameter estimation and the relationship between this approach and classical estimation problems. The paper by Hofmann (2011) is referenced, which introduces an equation for the estimation problem. The different quantities in the equation are explained and related to a classical estimation problem. These include the parameter being estimated, the observed data, and the prior probability distribution. The Bayesian approach used in the paper is also discussed.
tworitdash
I am not an expert in quantum theory. I want to carry out some parameter estimation on a set of data I have. I have a model for the data with the parameter(s) of interest as variable(s).

The data available is sporadic, meaning non-statistical or techniques involving no prior knowledge on the parameter of interest may result in very bad estimate of the parameter. For example, a Doppler frequency estimator with DFT with very sparse data in time. So, we can call the bad estimates for the parameters as bad(weak) estimates. I am currently looking at Bayesian principles with Markov Chain Monte Carlo techniques to estimate a probability distribution of parameters.

However, I came across parameter estimation with quantum weak measurement recently. I am curious how can I translate what people use in the parameter estimation for the weak measurements in a classical setting.

I found this paper for the same.

Hofmann, H. F. (2011). On the estimation of interaction parameters in weak measurements. AIP Conference Proceedings, 1363(October 2011), 125–128. https://doi.org/10.1063/1.3630162Here, they say that the estimation problem can be defined by this following equation.

$$ \hat{E_m} = \sqrt{w_m}(\hat{1} + \epsilon k_m \hat A) $$