Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Question About AP1000's PCCS

1. Jun 11, 2010 #1
    Hello, my mother recently sent me a very mediocre article showing concerns regarding the Westinghouse AP1000 PWR with PCCS. The thrust of the concern seemed to be the possibility that the steel shielding could corrode, or be otherwise compromised by an earthquake, leading to a radioactive release a la the chimney effect. I am not a nuclear engineer, but it didn't seem likely to me, given the proposed construction. I did say that I would ask some people who are nuclear engineers, and I would guess there are a few here. To me, the massive reduction in moving parts, and the explosive locks seem to be enhancing safety. I assume this reactor can be SCRAMed like any other as well. Am I missing something, or is this the usual anti-nuclear hysteria?

2. jcsd
  3. Jun 11, 2010 #2

Astronuc

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor

Explosive locks?

Reactors are designed to scram at level below a design basis earthquake.

Reactors are enclosed in a containment of reinforced concrete, which has a steel liner. The objective in passive cooling is to have a reservoir of cooling water that does not have to be forced by pumps.

I believe that article's premise is faulty.

4. Jun 12, 2010 #3
    Excellent, that is what I was hoping to hear. Thanks very much.

I've been informed that I am twice the fool; not explosive locks, but explosive and DC operated valves:
    . I believe the concern is that there is a space between the steel and concrete structures, and that the convection cooling at the top of the stack could draw radioactive contaminants through a space between the concrete and the steel. To me, it still sounds extremely safe, and the valves are just another means to scram with redundancy.