Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Question about capacitors

1. Feb 10, 2005 #1
    Hello All,

I'm a novice when it comes to electronics and I have what I think is a really basic qoestion concerning capacotors. If you have a capacitor and a battery in a circuit so that the battery is set to charge the capacitor, is the capcacitor charged by the voltage potential in the battery alone or is there an actual movement of electrons from the barttery to the capacitor plate in order for it to charge? I also have a couple of other questions but I'll wait on those for the moment.

Thanks,
    Jason O

2. jcsd
  3. Feb 10, 2005 #2

chroot

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member

Initially, when the capacitor and battery are not connected, there is no potential across the capacitor, and a non-zero potential across the battery. When you connect them, the difference in potential drives electrons from the negative terminal of the battery onto the negative plate of the capacitor. The potential difference drives a current.

As this happens, the potential across the capacitor increases, and the current decreases. When the potential across the capacitor matches the potential across the battery, there is no longer any potential difference, and therefore no more current.

- Warren

4. Feb 10, 2005 #3
    Hmmm.... ok that makes sense. Now, here's my next question. Is it possible to charge a capacitor without electrons actually flowing into the capacitor? Maybe this is more of a physics question i'm not sure, but what is the energy that constitutes the charge coming from? Do the electrons actually have to be squeezed onto the plate of the capacitor for it to be considered "charged" or is there some sort of transfer of potential through the electrons from the battery to the capacitor plate that allowes the cap to be charged?