1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Question about course load

1. Jul 6, 2015 #1
    I'm currently a high school student. For background, I finished Calc BC soph year and I've taken Calc III, DE, PDE, Lin. Alg, and an intro to proofs course this past year at a local 4 year university (earned A's in all). I'll be a senior next year taking Real Analysis, Intro to Geometry, and doing an independent study of Abstract Algebra in the fall. All of these are supposed to be fairly proof intensive, and I've only been exposed to proofs in my intro to proofs course (All math classes before that were very 'cookbook' style).
    So I'm wondering: how much time I should be expecting to devote to these classes? Would this seem fairly doable to a standard math major? I've been informed by some that taking RA and AA together would be very difficult (especially since Abs. Alg won't be in a formal class, and I've got Geometry to deal with), so I just want to make sure I don't get overwhelmed.

2. jcsd
  3. Jul 6, 2015 #2

WannabeNewton

Science Advisor

It's a very standard course load but honestly what's the point of questions like these? How are we supposed to know what is and isn't overwhelming for you? Different people handle different levels of course load difficulties. You just have to experiment.

4. Jul 6, 2015 #3