1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Question about eigenvectors

1. Nov 28, 2005 #1
    I am studying for a test that I have today and just need a quick anwser. the problem is find the eigenvector of [8 -10;2 -1] where ; means skip to a new line. So I get lamda=4,3 then try to find eigenvector for lamda=4. I get the vector [5/2;1] which works but the anwser in the book is [2;5]. Both anwsers seem to be right but is there some rule to say that the book anwser is better.

2. jcsd
  3. Nov 28, 2005 #2

TD

Homework Helper

Eigenvectors are always determined up to an arbitrary (non-zero) multiplication factor. The book apparently preferred not to have fractions but the smallest possible integers, which is usually done. Both are fine though :smile:

4. Nov 28, 2005 #3

matt grime

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

its answer doesn't have any fractions in it, that is considered better, just as you should replace 1/sqrt(2) with sqrt(2)/2. Its answer is also valid even if we only consider vectors with entries in the integers (which we may want to) so it is more general. Your answer is fine if we remember that we CAN divide by two, but it holds in greater generality than that.

Just remember that if you can you should clear denominators in an answer, and since e-vectors are only defined up to scalar multiples why not? PERSONAL OPINION and NOT in any way authoritative is that I wouldn't mark you down for your answer. But that is purely MY opinion and is not necessarily that of your teacher/marker.

actually, have just noticed your answer and the books are not compatible, bnut that is probably a typo

(5/2,1) is not a scalar multiple of (2,5)

(5/2,1) and (5,2) yes or
    (2/5,1) and (2,5) also ok

5. Nov 28, 2005 #4