Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Question about Fourier Series

1. Dec 3, 2008 #1
    Hey everybody! I am an undergrad student ,in an ee department.Ive taken "signals and systems" and two ago we got into the Fourier part. The question i have is whether or not there are some steps someone can follow in order to find the Fourier series given some specific graph.Now,our professor told us that there are some graphs(square pulse,sawtooth etc) that we know their Fourier series function.How about some other graphs similar to them?How can we find their Fourier Series?Are there some steps someone can follow in order to do that?

P.S:When i say graphs similar to them i mean the graphs that we already know their Fourier series; but are a little "transformed" i.e a sawtooth with a bigger amplitude or a shifted square pulse.
  2. jcsd
  3. Dec 3, 2008 #2
    yes, you start by writing the function of your "graph"
  4. Dec 9, 2008 #3
    yes, we use the fourier transforms of the shapes we already know (square, impulses, sines and cosines etc.). But then we combine them with the properties of the fourier transform to get the fourier transforms of more complicated signal waveforms.

For example, if we perform the convolution of two squares, we can produce a triangle. Convolution in the time domain is associated with multiplication in the fourier domain. So when we perform the convolution of two squares, we multiply the sinc functions in the fourier domain to get a sinc squared shape.

Another example, we can use the linearity property for shapes that involve the sum of two rectangles centred around the origin to give a 'box-upon-a-box' or 'staircase' kind of shape. We can divide the shape into the sum of two or how many ever rect functions and then treat each rect function separately.

Thats a crude way of putting it but I hope it helps.
  5. Feb 12, 2009 #4