Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Question about Human Pyramid!

1. Dec 25, 2007 #1
    Hi! I'm Simone, I come from Italy and I'm a newbie..glad to meet you...and ehm...I have already a question!

My question is related about the example of human pyramid.

There are 5 people, one at top of the other..like:

o5 push o4 up...o4 push o3 up and so on..
    the perceiped force on the shoulders of o5 is only o4's weight or the
    sum of o1,o2,o3,o4 ones?
    if it is the last response, so must be o5 the strongest one and can
    they sit without difference of force on o5? thanks!
  2. jcsd
  3. Dec 25, 2007 #2

Science Advisor
    Gold Member

Weight on o5 is total of the others. I don't understand your second question, other than presuming o5 is probably the strongest, but not necessarily.
  4. Dec 25, 2007 #3

Because I guessed as following:

(the image is ugly, i know :biggrin:)

and |F21|=|P1| |F32|=|P2| and so on..

finally, the total weight on o5 should be (and the module of F54) P4 (and in the floor P5), shouldn't it?

instead, on sitting people..they don't make any "pulling action" so |F21|=0 |F32|=0 and so on... so, the total wieght on o5 (and module of |F54|)should be P1+P2+P3+P4 (and in the floor P1+P2+P3+P4+P5), shouldn't it? thanks for reply
  5. Dec 25, 2007 #4

Yes, O5 must be the strongest because the percieved weight will be the sum of all those above.

Otherwise, you could have O5 carrying a kitten which is carrying a shipping crate. I like kittens. Preferably retaining all three of their dimensions.
  6. Dec 26, 2007 #5
    This is the part that I don't understand; can you try asking it again? What do you mean by "on sitting people"? Why do you say that any of these forces equal zero?
  7. Dec 26, 2007 #6
    This seems to be a problem related to Newton's Third Law.