1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Question about pulses

1. May 4, 2009 #1
    Hi Physics Forum,

I am a student, doing something about electromagnetic pulses.
    I want to ask a question:
    If we find the effects of EM pulses on some systems, is it convenient to use Fourier transformation to make these pulses look like sinusoidal? Or we can use other kinds of transformations like Laplace one.
    Can you recommend me the simplest books telling ways to calculate with EM pulses.

Ah, they tell about the sinusoidal pulse, the Gaussian pulse and the rectangular pulse with the same energy. What does "the same energy" of pulses mean?

Thank you very much.

2. jcsd
  3. May 5, 2009 #2

jtbell

Staff: Mentor

It means that if they hit something and are absorbed, they deliver the same number of joules of energy to the absorbing object.

4. May 5, 2009 #3

Born2bwire

Science Advisor
    Gold Member

You could do a Fourier transform, but then you need to solve over a range of frequencies and then do an inverse transform to get the time domain solution. Depending on the type of pulse and the number of points you need to do the inverse transform, this could be more time consuming than a time-domain analysis. It all depends. I reallly simple way to model pulses is to use FDTD, finite-difference time-domain. Allen Taflove is a great authority on FDTD.

5. May 6, 2009 #4
    Thank two members very much.

It is appealing to learn new method such as FDTD. However, in my problem, the previous author had analytical result of a sinusoidal wave, and there are several surfaces with surface currents (a cell with an organelle inside). I wonder that is this method effective with surface regions, and with the small regions when the quantum effects are important?