1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Question about Summer School

1. Feb 7, 2015 #1
    Hey all,
    I'm currently an undergrad physics major at UCSD. I'm thinking about taking a few classes over the summer so that my course-load for next year will not be too unbearable (my schedule is already packed).

The courses I plan on taking over the summer are:
    (1) PDEs
    (2) Complex Analaysis
    (3) ~ Maybe a philosophy course

I am trying to taking these classes to get my philosophy / math minor sooner so I can focus on physics.

My question is, how is the pacing of summer school, for those of you who have experienced it? A class during a normal quarter is 10 weeks + finals, whereas a class over summer quarter is 4 or 5 weeks + finals. Would the material be too condensed? I have read the summer syllabus for the math classes and the syllabus for normal quarters; they cover the same amount of material but in a lot less time. I want to have a good understanding of mathematics to prepare me for upper-div physics courses. Will taking these courses over the summer sacrifice some retention of the material covered?

2. jcsd
  3. Feb 7, 2015 #2

QuantumCurt

Education Advisor

I haven't yet taken either of those math classes, but from what I've heard about them I would not want to take even one of them over the summer. Let alone both of them. PDEs has a reputation of being a very difficult class, and complex analysis does as well.

4. Feb 8, 2015 #3
    Maybe I'll stick to philosophy over the summer. I need at least 8 credits to apply for Financial Aid :P

5. Feb 8, 2015 #4
    Ussually people take math course they have self studied for credit during short semesters. If you have any other general education requirements, complete those instead.