Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Question about Tetrad

1. Apr 11, 2013 #1
    I am new to tetrad formalism in general relativity. I understand that [itex]e^{a}_{\mu}[/itex] is the component of a tetrad basis but what is meaning of [itex]e^{a \mu}[/itex] and how do i find it? For example, [itex]e^{a}_{\mu}[/itex] is a diagonal matrix (a,b,c,d), how do I find [itex]e^{a \mu}[/itex]? Just raise the index using metric tensor [itex]g^{\nu \mu}[/itex]?

Thanks.

2. jcsd
  3. Apr 11, 2013 #2

Mentz114

Gold Member

There is a good explanation in section 5.8 of the attached notes.

Attached Files:

4. Apr 11, 2013 #3
    Thanks. Let see if I understand it correctly.

Let say my metric tensor [itex]g_{\mu \nu}[/itex] is a diagonal matrix (a^2,b^2,c^2,d^2) and we choose the tetrad [itex]e^{m}_{\mu}[/itex] as (a,b,c,d), then the [itex]\gamma_{mn}[/itex] is equal to (1,1,1,1) right? And we use this [itex]\gamma_{mn}[/itex] to raise and lower the tetrad indices m and n right?

Besides, if my metric tensor is not a diagonal matrix, is there a simple way to find the corresponding tetrad?

Thanks.

5. Apr 11, 2013 #4

Mentz114

Gold Member

According to equ(3), for an orthonormal tetrad, ##\gamma_m \cdot\gamma_n = \eta_{mn}##, but in general ##\gamma_m \cdot\gamma_n = \gamma_{mn}##. I assume the dot is the tensor product.

If you can write the line element as a sum of squares, it's possible to read off the static frame field. But for the frame field of a general worldline, I don't know a method that works every time.