Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Question as to the workings of PF

1. Apr 2, 2005 #1
    obviously i am new to PF, so i have a question.
    I notice that some people are a 'guru' or 'homework helper' or stuff like that. Does the almighty Bernhardt elevate you to these honors? i know nothing, so i have no hope of attaining anything except 'PFs most idiotic member' or 'village idiot', but that's ok, atleast i am good at something :smile:

Fibonacci

2. jcsd
  3. Apr 2, 2005 #2

Evo

Staff: Mentor

Members that receive the "Science Advisor" & "Homework Helper" ribbons are nominated by mentors for repeatedly displaying accurate knowledge and a helpful nature, Greg makes the final decision and gives the awards.

Members that receive the "guru" ribbons are nominated by mentors based on the above criteria, but the actual forum members vote for who gets the awards.

4. Apr 2, 2005 #3

Moonbear

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member

The staff selects the homework helpers and science advisors based on the quality and helpfulness of posts at the site, along with demonstration of knowledge on a topic (keep in mind, the advisors often have narrow areas of expertise, so the medal doesn't mean they are an expert everywhere). The "guru" awards were done by a vote...the mentors nominated a group of people for each category, and then the nominees were listed in a poll and the members voted from among them.

We do have a funniest member award, even though our resident funny guy has been missing in action for a while (he better watch out, I see a lot of new competition cropping up this year ready to take the title). Perhaps we can petition for a category of "Village Idiot" next time around. :rofl:

5. Apr 2, 2005 #4
    I better kick the stupid up another level (if it is possible for any human to do)
    :tongue2:

Fibonacci

6. Apr 2, 2005 #5

brewnog