Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Question for the old members of the forum

1. Jun 15, 2005 #1
    Question for the "old" members of the forum

Hi everybody,
    This is a question mostly for the older members of the forums or anynone who knows. I was wondering if any important mathematical result has been firstly posted here, or if there is anything interesting that has come up through the discussions in the math forums. Of course, I don't impy that most discussions/questions here are unimportant/uninteresting but I am talking about results that could even be published.
    I am just curious about the "history" of these math foums!!

Thanks

2. jcsd
  3. Jun 15, 2005 #2

mathman

Science Advisor
    Gold Member

As a mathematician I have found the math questions mostly rather basic, almost always sounding like homework. The physics and astronomy sections seem to have more meat to them - even wild theories, although highly unlikely to prove valid.

4. Jun 15, 2005 #3
    If you're looking for new math discoveries, as in new theorems and such, you won't find any here, even in the physics/atsro sections. I doubt a scientist would risk his work for many years by posting such a result online before publishing it. However, there are some very interesting and fascinating things found both in the physics sections as well as the mathematics sections, of course it depends on what you're level of math/physics is.

5. Jun 16, 2005 #4