1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Question from a Physics beginner

1. Sep 29, 2005 #1
    Hi all,

I am just beginning Physics, and have 2 simple problems but don't know how to go about solving them. Here goes:

1) An eagle is flying due east at 8.9 m/s carrying a gopher in its talons. The gopher manages to break free at a height of 12 m. What is the magnitude of the gophers velocity as it reaches the ground?

What formula is used to do to calculation? This is a multiple choice question, but using the Pythagorean Theorem doesn't yield any of the choices.

The choices: 8.9 m/s, 9.8 m/s, 11 m/s 18 m/s or 22 m/s?

2) A projectile is fired from a gun and has initial horizontal and vertical components of velocity equal to 30 m/s and 40 m/s, respectively. Determine the initial speed of the projectile.

Again, what formula is used to do to calculation?
  2. jcsd
  3. Sep 29, 2005 #2

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor

Well, of course, it wouldn't. The Pythagorean theorem doesn't have any thing to do with kinematics- and the gopher's fall will not be a straight line.
    Do you know any formulas connecting velocity and distance to time when you have a constant acceleration? Do you know what the acceleration due to gravity is?

Exactly the same formulas you used in (1)! You should have one formula for vertical motion involving "g" (the acceleration due to gravity) and one for horizontal motion with no acceleration.
  4. Sep 29, 2005 #3