Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Question in Quantum Physics

1. Apr 1, 2004 #1
    Hello, Im in first year physics and I was wondering if anyone could help me out with a question. Its dealing with Heisenberg's Uncertainty prinicple:

A meson is an unstable particle produced in high-energy paritcle collisions. Its rest energy is about 135 MeV and it exisits for an average lifetime of only 8.70 x 10^-17 s before decaying into two gamma rays. Using the uncertainty principle, estimate the fractional uncertainty delta m/m in its mass determination.
    thankyou ahead of time for the help !
    Arieniel

2. jcsd
  3. Apr 1, 2004 #2

Doc Al

Staff: Mentor

One of the uncertainty relations is ΔE x ΔT > h-bar/2. (You can interpret the lifetime as the "uncertainty" in time.) Does that help?

And welcome to the Physics Forums, by the way! :smile:

Last edited: Apr 1, 2004
  4. Apr 1, 2004 #3
    Further Question

Thanks for welcoming me to board,
    i know that there is an uncertainity equation of delta x delta p is >/ h/2
    does this come into play and where does the energy come into play, cuz i found delta E

5. Apr 1, 2004 #4
    The uncertainty in the mass energy of this meson (mc^2) is related to the lifetime of the particle via:
    {uncertainty in mc^(2)}*t ~ h-bar.