Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Question of Rigour

1. Aug 31, 2009 #1
    I was trying to prove a limit, and I found that I can take [tex] \epsilon = \sqrt[]{13}(\sqrt[]{\delta + 1} - 1) [/tex] since as delta goes to 0, it's obvious that entire expression also goes to 0, so epsilon also goes to 0.

My question is, how is the rigorousness of this? Will it be good enough for a uni. prof? (I have no experience with them)

2. jcsd
  3. Aug 31, 2009 #2

arildno

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper
    Gold Member
    Dearly Missed

Actually, you should end up with choosing the delta, letting the epsilon be the arbitrary quantity.

Your profs will put their claws into that mistake of yours!.

So, rearrange your estimate to choosing delta as:
    [tex]\delta\leq(\frac{\epsilon}{\sqrt{13}}+1)^{2}-1[/tex]

4. Aug 31, 2009 #3
    Thanks. It makes more sense when I re-arrange for delta. I know the steps are clearly reversible, but I guess I should get into the habit of solving for delta.

5. Aug 31, 2009 #4

arildno

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper
    Gold Member
    Dearly Missed

Indeed you should!

6. Aug 31, 2009 #5
    I'd say it's pretty obvious. It depends on the class and teacher I'd think. For a first-year analysis class, take the steps to prove it. If you're doing differential geometry, it's too basic to bother with.

If you want to avoid stupid pokes at your grade, you can always summarize a proof:

"The expression above approaches zero. [tex]\sqrt[]{13}(\sqrt[]{\delta + 1} - 1) [/tex] approaches zero if [tex]\sqrt[]{\delta + 1} - 1[/tex] approaches zero, [tex]\sqrt[]{\delta + 1} - 1[/tex] approaches 0 if [tex]\sqrt[]{\delta + 1}[/tex] approaches one, and [tex]\sqrt[]{\delta + 1}[/tex] approaches one if [tex]\delta + 1[/tex] does, which it does.