Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Question on polynomial orders

1. Jul 23, 2015 #1
    I am trying to use a numerical polynomial root finding method, but I am unsure of the order of an expression. For example, if I have something that looks like
    x2+5x √(x2+3)+x+1=0
    what is the coefficient of the second order (and potentially even the first order) term? Is the entire 5x√... term second order, or does it have lower order components as well?

2. jcsd
  3. Jul 23, 2015 #2
    I'm thinking, and I'm not an expert on polynomial mathematics, but that the equation you listed isn't actually one. I make that statement with the thought in mind that a term cannot include an irreducible radical as part of the product.

See more about the definition of a polynomial here: http://www.purplemath.com/modules/polydefs.htm

Last edited: Jul 23, 2015
  4. Jul 23, 2015 #3
    If not a polynomial, then what kind of equation is it? This is asked in an effort to determine a numerical method to use.

5. Jul 23, 2015 #4
    And you can always square both sides to get a polynomial.

6. Jul 23, 2015 #5