Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Question on Relativity.

1. Sep 16, 2007 #1
    Hello. I have little knowledge on relativity but I have read the fundamental concepts. What has been confusing me was the following problem:
    If a photon A is traveling towards another photon B which is traveling directly into photon A (a head on collision). What will be the speed of photon B relative to photon A?
    Since the relative speed cannot be two times the speed of light as nothing can surpass the speed of light, could someone please explain this to me?

Last edited: Sep 16, 2007
  2. jcsd
  3. Sep 16, 2007 #2

HallsofIvy

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor

The speed of a photon relative to ANY coordinate system is c- the speed of light. That is THE fundamental concept of relativity.

Do you know the formula for combining speeds in relativity? It is NOT u+ v! it is
    [tex]\frac{u+ v}{1+ \frac{uv}{c^2}}[/itex]
    In particular, if u= v= c, we have
    [tex]\frac{c+ c}{1+ \frac{c^2}{c^2}}= \frac{2c}{2}= c[/tex].

4. Sep 16, 2007 #3
    Yes I've tried that. What if an observer watches the two photons travel at each other. Will that observer see the two photons traveling towards each other at 2c?

5. Sep 16, 2007 #4

Doc Al

Staff: Mentor

Yes, that observer will see them come together, covering separation distance (with respect to this observer) at a rate of 2c.

6. Sep 16, 2007 #5
    Ah ok thanks for the quick response.

7. Sep 16, 2007 #6
    2c? how is it possible? i don't understend this passage

8. Sep 16, 2007 #7

Doc Al

Don't confuse what can be called the "3rd party separation rate" with relative speed.